The Area

The Area and how it is managed

Sussex Area is run by a Council made up of one representative from each of the member clubs. The day to day Area management is delegated to the Executive Committee, comprising the Area Chairman, Area Vice Chairman, Area Treasurer, Area Secretary, together with the chairman of Judges, Demonstrators, Speakers and Education (JDS&E) committee, Media, Ticket and Programme Administrators.  Various administrative positions (Publications, Flower Arranger, Newsletter Editor and Website) are appointed.

The Council meets 4 times a year either physically or by Zoom. The Area organises several members’ days each year as well as competitions and shows.

The Area Chairman attends regular National Advisory meetings with the NAFAS Board and chairmen of the other Areas. In addition, Area representatives attend similar National Committee meetings for judges, demonstrators, speakers, education, publications and media creating a useful two-way exchange of ideas throughout the Areas.


The Presidential Pantheon

The Sussex Area is very proud to introduce to you its Presidential Pantheon. The position of President recognises the commitment, involvement and support these individuals have given to the Sussex Area over the years. We couldn’t have done it without them. You don’t have to have held an Area Office to be appointed so next time it could be you!

Sue Seath

Sue Seath
Area President

Sue is a member of East Preston Floral Club, has two RHS gold medals plus a gold for representing Sussex at the Nationals. She has competed successfully as well as arranging flowers in many renown venues over the years. She enjoys travelling, painting, and family life.

Jose Allen

Jose Allen
Area Life Vice President

Jose has been involved with NAFAS for many years. She was National Chairman 1983-1985, National Demonstrator and Adjudicator, National Judge. Was the Chairman Nat. Festival & Competitions (Flight of Fancy) 1978 and National Show Consultant 1980-1983. She served on National Judges Committee late 1990s. WAFA was formed when she was Vice Chairman and the first Show was held in Bath (1984) when she was Chairman. She was Sussex Area Chairman 1974 to 1978 and holds both a National Associate of Honour and a Sussex Award of Merit.


Past Presidents (from 2000)

Jean Plaskett (2017 - 2020)

Colette Archer (2014 – 2017)

Pam Gibson (2011 - 2014)

Barbara Harris (2008 - 2011)

Margaret Dunkerton (2005 - 2008)

Anne Lee (2002 - 2005)

Joyce Hogan (2000 - 2002)


Area Chairmen (from 2000)

Angie Hyde (2016 - 2019)

Doreen Nuttall (2013 - 2016)

Jean Plaskett (2010 - 2013)

Pam Gibson (2007 - 2010)

Elsie Chaplin (2005 - 2007)

Sue Flight (2005)

Brenda Forrester (2002 - 2005)

Barbara Harris (1999 - 2002)